I haven’t posted on here in several days because I have been hesitant. Some dear friends recently helped me to realize how much (or little) thought/prayer I put into my words. So, I have felt a resistance to say anything to you for awhile. And I think it is a good thing.

Even though I have felt that resistance, I have also been very eager to say something about Haiti on here. Honestly, I have nothing new to tell you. Nothing you can’t find on FoxNews or CNN (whichever you prefer). So, I won’t say more on what is going on there.

I will tell you that my heart is heavy. I feel overwhelmed with grief for Haiti. And my only real connection is one little girl. I cannot imagine how those who are adopting from Haiti feel with their child still living amongst the suffering, death, tragedy, looting, hunger and so much more.

Please pray. First off, please pray for God to be glorified. I know you may wonder “how He can be glorified through all of this”. I really believe that part of His glory comes from the body of Christ rising up and extravagantly loving the country of Haiti, by HIS power, and not our own.

Pray for the Haitians. Pray for strength, hope, patience, safety, food & water, rescue… Pray for the orphaned. Pray for those who lost everyone and everything. Pray for the volunteers. Pray for the missionaries. Pray for the adoptive families….who knows, you may become one of them soon. Before the earthquake, there were 1.2 Million orphans in Haiti (Haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere). I am weary to hear what that number will amount to in the aftermath.

The Livesays write via Facebook, “You are asking what you can do … we are going to need Diesel, Water, Food … things you cannot really easily do.  SO – give money.  Money is the number one need (and ability to purchase the supplies) and MEDICAL PERSONNEL. Coming down if you are not willing to risk and get in and clean out horrific wounds would just tax an already taxed place. Medical professionals should contact organizations with the ability to coordinate efforts and try to get here. It won’t help to have more non-medical people to feed and house.”

I can tell you that Compassion International is a great way to give. They have  a disaster relief fund where you can give $35 to help feed a family for a week.

You can purchase a Help Haiti T HERE. 100% of your money goes to Real Hope for Haiti, the Livesay Family & Heartline ministries that are all three on the ground (and have been for years) in Haiti.

What is on your heart and mind right now?

