Tuesday night we (Tim and myself) went to an informational meeting with Bethany Christian Services. I was so excited to go. To be honest, I knew most of the information they told us. I have been doing research on adoption and have followed other people in their journey for nearly two years now. But still, it felt as though it is now official that we are starting the process. Tuesday was not anything that was technically official, but it made it official for me. 🙂

This summer, right after July 17 (that’s my birthday, mark your calendars!), we will submit our preliminary application to Bethany. After that is completed and we are approved past that step, we will receive a packet of info that will tell us everything we need to know to put our dossier (for those not in the adoption world, it is pronounced da-se-ay) together. This will include stuff like our homestudy, fingerprints, psyc evaluation (which is only required by certain countries, the Philippines being one), marriage certificate, reference letters, and much much more. After all of that is complete, we will have to send it off to the Philippines to begin the long wait. From the time ICAB receives our info, as long as everything in the packet is correct, the wait could be between 2 to 3 years. That is a long time, but we are ready for that. Tim says he doesn’t want kids for another 2 to 3 years anyway, so it works out well.

I cannot tell you how excited I am. If you know me, you know I want a baby NOW. I am hurting for a baby in a bad way. Not even lying. But, I can wait a little longer. Now would not be the best timing, I know that. 😦 I will stop pouting now…at least out loud.

For those of you who do not know, these are the specifics of our adoption at this point. Anything and everything could change. This is what we feel led to right now though: Our first (yes, I said first) adoption will be from the Philippines. We will probably apply for a child between 2 to 4 years of age (in the Philippines, the earliest age you can adopt is 2 years, I think). We will not care if it is a boy or girl. At this point we do not want to pursue any type of special needs child. I am not sure if we would be open to a sibling group or not, we have not really talked about that. Right now, that is what I know, which isn’t much. I will be sure to fill you all in as we move along in this crazy journey.

One thing that I know for certain is the cost. My goodness the cost. Up front, we will pay Bethany approx. $7,450. That will be for our homestudy, etc. All together (travel cost, country costs, Bethany costs, etc) the entire thing will be around $25,000. It is a lot of money, but so worth it. And just to make it clear, I do wish it wouldn’t cost so much, but I know that we have to pay these people to do their jobs, and I am okay with that. The people at Bethany are wonderful. I have actually gotten to know some of them pretty well because their office in our city is located in my building 🙂

I have some ideas of how to raise the money, but with any large amount needing to be raised, I worry a lot little about it. I am not a creative person like Lara. I don’t know a ton of people because I am a fabulous blogger like Jamie. I am not good at designing things like Debra. So, I have to find other ways. So far, these are my ideas:

  • Parents’ Night Out: I did this with my church when we were raising money to build the clean water well in Ethiopia. I had so many parents tell me that I should do this once a month. So… as long as my church allows it (I have not even talked to them about this yet), I hope to do just that. The parents bring their kiddos and we watch them for a couple of hours so the grown-ups can go out. We don’t charge, we just accept donations. I figure if we did this once a month it could bring in a good amount.
  • Run a Marathon: I will hate myself for this one. And, me putting this on here will hopefully provide some accountability. I hope to train and run in a marathon and get people to sponsor me. They could sponsor me so much per mile (i.e. $1/mile or $2/mile) or they could just make a donation. I will keep you posted on this too. I will hopefully be choosing a marathon in the next couple of days to be training for. I am not in shape but am not overweight,  and am not a runner. So how much time do you think I should give myself to train?
  • We will also probably send out a traditional letter announcing that we are “paper pregnant” and if anyone wants to be a part of bringing Baby Trivette home (I love typing that!), they can send us a donation.
  • I work at an incredible faith-based non-profit called Summit Leadership Foundation. I will hopefully have a couple of coffee/music nights here in the Cafe.

There are a couple of other ideas that I have rolling around in my head that I don’t want to make public just yet. Please be praying for us. I know in my head that this is going to be a long process that will require our utmost dependence on God, but I am not sure my heart knows that just yet. I will for sure keep you all updated. I am just going to be impatient for summer to come. Not because of the warm weather, my anniversary or my birthday, but because that is when we start our journey to our first little one 🙂

And because posts are always more fun with pictures, this is a picture from my last trip to the Philippines:

Yes, that is a banana tree I am carrying. My last trip was a construction and agriculture trip. Here I am carrying the tree to plant it somewhere else 🙂

