What is ESL you might ask…

English Standard Language. That was the main thing we did while there. A lot of the people there want to learn or practice their English. We were able to work with a local church to teach people English.

Our one large team ended up splitting into two different teams. The other team had 500 people register for their classes!! We actually only had about 75 register in our group. I got to work with the more advanced group. Which kind of ranged from knowing English really well, to only knowing a little. I had a lot of fun with that group. We taught them things (while I was there, a lot more was taught after I left) about family, food and greetings. The last day I was there we practiced English just through conversation.

Tim was sick pretty much the whole time we were there. We found out after the trip that if you have a cold or sinus infection before you travel like we did, apparently you have good chances of coming down with another sinus infection. Who knew?! We didn’t. Tim had a sinus infection two weeks before we left. By the third day of being there, he came down with another. He has at least 2 to 3 of them a year, and they lay him out. He lost his voice, coughed  A LOT, had no energy and slept all of the time. He stayed at the hotel for the majority of the time. Well, he finally got better the last day we were at the church teaching English.

He got to come for one day to the classes. He helped me out. That was actually the first time he and I got to serve like that together. I loved it! He was so much better than I thought he would be. I mean, I knew he would do a good job, but he did so great! The day he helped was the day we just had conversation with the students. In the middle of the conversation, one of the guys looked at me and asked, “What is it that makes you happy all through your day?”. I said, “well, let me tell you. Jesus Christ.” We then, together, shared the Gospel with this group of college students. It was so neat. I loved every minute of it 🙂

One thing I learned about ESL training is it really matters what part of the world/country the teachers are from. I would say something, and pronounce it different from how they learned it, and they would totally not understand what I was saying. We really had to work on that one with me being a southern girl.

