I don’t know why, but I just have not been in the mood to post blogs for the last month or so. Sorry for the lack of updates! I am even getting tired of Twitter and Facebook. Google Reader is struggling too. I don’t know what has gotten into me. Oh well.

Just wanted to give you some updates on the fundraising for our trip to Shashamene, Ethiopia.

Two Saturdays ago we had a yard sale. Honestly, it wasn’t as big as I thought it would be, but when is it ever? It was supposed to be this big community yard sale with over 10 or 12 families yardselling too. Well, we got there and there was only one other yard sale (whom we made mad and she yelled at me!). The lady who organized it all didn’t even show up! The high light of it all was we brought the litter of boxer pups that turned 6 weeks old that day. We had so many people stop by, those babies were worn out! I told mom at some point that morning that my goal was just to raise $100. Seemed realistic enough. When we got to $128, we called it quits. We had been there since 7am (with me not getting there the night before until about 10:15) and were pooped! So we packed up and went to my sister’s softball tournament. Man I wish I could go to more of her tournaments! She is so good and I love to see her play!

Yesterday, Sunday, we had what was supposed to be a Spaghetti Lunch, but last minute turned into a Sloppy Joe lunch. We had food donated at the last minute, so we switched the menu to Sloppy Joes. They were so good too! I cooked 15 pounds of ground beef yesterday morning and then served it! We had a blast. Tim and I used to both serve in restaurants. It made me want to serve again! I love being busy and organized! I asked Tim if he missed it, to which he responded with a laugh and a NO! Ah well.

At the lunch we raised $450 on the dot! We were incredibly excited and blessed!

So now I think we have some where around $4,000 left to raise in a little less than a month. Wow, that is a lot. But our God is BIG. If He wants us to go, it will happen. I am not worried πŸ™‚

We have t-shirts if you would like to help out with the fundraising! Here are two pictures that pretty much show what they look like. One of the pictures is Afework, who lives in Shashamene. I just think that picture is so cool and makes it even more real that we are leaving for Africa in a month and 3 days! Holy Cow!!!

afework-debebe-hydrate

hydratescreen_1colorsample

If you are interested in a t-shirt, they are $20 including shipping. Just email me at jessicatrivette[at]gmail[dot]com. I will update soon to let you know the sizes I have.

P/S: I am getting back in the mood to have a kid now!! I have been looking at adoptuskids.org for the last couple of days and falling in love with so many little ones! We are holding off for at least 3 more years, but oh I want one now! – Ok, I am done whining πŸ˜‰

