I know the Economy is a hot topic right now. So let me just forewarn you, if you are coming here from words of an expert or words of wisdom, you have come to the wrong place. I am just typing out what has been on my heart in the past couple of months.

The economy is scary right now. Truth is, our comfortable place to live is being threatened. (I have no care in the world to discuss why I think this is. I am just not going to do it.) People all over are losing their jobs. I work at a place that essentially serves/ministers to other ministries and non-profits. I have seen so many people come in who have lost their jobs due to lack of donations/support or the loss of grant monies. I have also heard, through my Church, friends, and the news, of so many other people losing their jobs. And they cannot find new ones. Honestly, at this point, I am not scared for myself. What will happen, will happen. My God is good and will take care of me (even if that does not add up to what I think is taking care of me…keeping me comfortable). I know most of these people serve the same God, the God who has rescued us already. But for some reason I can’t help but worry for them. The situation is not great at this point, and from what I hear will not get much better. So what do we do?

For the past several months I have thought about the original Church and how they lived amongst one another. Here, let me show you…

Acts 2:42-47 (The Message)

41-42That day about three thousand took him at his word, were baptized and were signed up. They committed themselves to the teaching of the apostles, the life together, the common meal, and the prayers.

43-45Everyone around was in awe—all those wonders and signs done through the apostles! And all the believers lived in a wonderful harmony, holding everything in common. They sold whatever they owned and pooled their resources so that each person’s need was met.

46-47They followed a daily discipline of worship in the Temple followed by meals at home, every meal a celebration, exuberant and joyful, as they praised God. People in general liked what they saw. Every day their number grew as God added those who were saved.”

Living together, taking care of one another, worshiping God together (not just on Sunday mornings), meeting each other’s needs. I know that there are a lot of you who meet these to some extent, but I really feel there is so much more!

I was thinking about how much income my husband and I bring in yesterday. How much of that do we really need to live on, and how much of that could we use to meet someone else’s need? I have a deep desire to take care of everyone who is struggling (more often it is focused on their physical needs and not their spiritual needs as it should be). When I talk about supporting someone else with our own income, I am not only talking about supporting missionaries or sponsoring children living in poverty, like I know that many of you already do (which by the way I feel that is definitely part of the Great Commission, that is just not the subject at hand). I am more so talking about supporting people who might be fellow members in your Church congregation who have fallen on hard times.

Of course while you are “pooling your resources so every person’s need is met”, they are definitely working their tails off to find another job. And when they find another job, it would be amazing if they helped to take care of someone else, while you as well took care of yet another family (yes, the movie “Pay it Forward” has all of a sudden come to mind…sorry).

I know that all of this sounds a little out there, but I really think if we took care of each other in this way (as instructed), we would have no reason to worry (not that we do already b/c our – believers & followers of Jesus Christ, our risen Saviour – hope is not in the economy, money, our house, or anything else here on this earth). And most of this is just me rambling.

I just want to point out once again, I am not anyone who knows a lot about this topic, or really knows enough to talk about it. I am just putting this out their because it has been on my heart and mind often. And because I want to know what you think. So please leave a comment!

What if we did it? What would happen?

What are your thoughts?

