In a couple of years that is. Back in 2005 I went to the Philippines. That was my first time in another country, especially a 3rd world country. My world changed!! We lived in tents for most of that summer. I was embarrassed most of the time by my “American” ways of doing things. But most importantly, it was the first time I met orphans. My heart was broken for the children who lived on the streets. One memory sticks out and I will always remember it. We were on our way to church when I saw two young girls (maybe ages 5 and 9 years old) sleeping on the side walk. People were stepping over them like it wasn’t a big deal. I remember crying and not wanting to go to church. Why do I need to go anywhere else in the world when there are two human beings who cannot fend for themselves that I could help, especially children! By the end of the summer I had my mom looking into adopting from the Philippines.

Recently I have read several adoption blogs and heard from friends who have adopted (domestically and internationally). My family has also adopted, my two younger sisters. I have always had a heart for a big family. I don’t want to bring all of the kids into the family biologically though (ouch!).

I have been looking into the agencies and finding out the rules/regulations/requirements for adopting in other countries. I would first like to focus on the Philippines. Both parents have to be 27 years of age; if there are any children in the house they have to be at least 2 years of age; couples must be married 3 years and there are other requirements, but these are the ones that have to do with our adoption time line right now. Tim and I have agreed that we would wait 4 – 5 years after being married to have children. I don’t want to wait any longer than that though (if you know me then you know that I wanted to have children right away). So, we decided that the summer I turn 27 (July 17th by the way 😉 ) we would start the process of adopting. This covers all of the requirements listed above. I will be 27, we will be married for 3 years, and we will wait to have a child biologically until after our first adoption. I am still just 24 years, so I know that this will be awhile. This will just give us more time to pray and learn more about it now instead of right at that moment. To top that off, the longest we will have to wait (I know it could be longer, I just want to hope!) is 2 1/2 years. I will be 29 probably before we have our first. I think it will be good though. We know that we want to adopt, I don’t think there is anything wrong with having a plan.

I know that things don’t always work out according to as planned. I know that this seems like something that can just be forgotten over the days/weeks/months/years of waiting until that time comes, but things are not always as they seem. Reading about parents bringing home their babies, settling in with their new babies, fighting for their babies, waiting on their babies, and waiting, and waiting. Reading what each of these families write makes my heart want to be at 27 years so much! I know that the Lord’s timing is perfect. I know that whether this begins to happen in the year 2010 or not, his plans are sovereign and right.

By the way, I know that I don’t need to rush into anything since I am a newly wed. I do not intend to. I love my husband so much and have no intentions of wishing away these next two years. Married life is amazing! I love it. I know these years without little ones in the house yet are precious and will be enjoyed!

